I make a good cup of tea, why won’t anybody hire me FOR FREE?!

So, as you are fully aware I have been sending mass emails out to people in the photographic field.
I contacted Photographer Andy Gotts, portrait photographer based in London and I believe he has a show starting at Sommerset House, London very soon…

This is how the conversation went…
Dear Mr Gotts,

I am a photography student studying at the University for the Creative of Arts in Farnham, Surrey.
As part of my 2nd year units, I have to go out and organise a work experience placement from the 31st March to 2nd May 2014 in the photography industry.
I am trying to find a suitable work placement for me to be able to gain a better understanding of what to do when I graduated in 2015. Ideally, I would like to be taking portraits and in a studio environment as I love this kind of atmosphere!

I was wondering if you would be willing to allow me to assist and shadow you around the times I have given and to perhaps interview you as part of my case study too? 

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards,

Lucy Yates, 21, Photography Student.

The Response:

Lucy thanks for the note.
 
Alas I cannot help.  My style is no assistants nor entourage, just me and my camera.  That’s why I get the commissions I do.
Good luck.

Andy 

 
Dr Andy Gotts MBE MA

Personally, I didn’t know how to take this reply from Dr Gotts… I’m not going to lie I was a little bit gutted and spoke to my photography peers about it (I think a little bit is a slight understatement). However, after reading this and feeling soul-destroyed  it drove me to send more emails out to people… As my old Air Cadet friend would tell me, “Giving up is not an option Miss Yates.”
Finding a placement is proving to be really really tricky. Common there must be something out there for me! Like, who doesn’t want a person working for them FREE OF CHARGE? I can make good cups of tea, why won’t somebody hire me?

Leave a Reply

