Analysis of Two Photographs

After flicking through Bill Owens’ book Suburbia  I came across a photograph that jogged my memory. On the left, you will see a photograph from a collection of images my mother took as a child playing with close family friends (unfortunately we lost contact over the years) and underneath, you will see Bill Owens’ image.

Despite the fact that the two are different in terms of how the photographs are shot, they do have their similarities.

When I first viewed Bill Owens’ image, it jogged my memory of a photograph I believe my mother had taken of me whilst I was playing in my room. I managed to find the photograph in my mother’s personal archive of photographs.
Placing the images side by side, you can see the differences and similarities. Firstly Owens’ picture is monochrome and mine is in colour. Both photographs has a bed featured in the pictures, however the bed in my found image has been cropped out slightly unlike Owens’. My found image also features two young girls (one of them being me) where as Owens’ image only has one girl, but you can see the toys/mess in her bedroom more clearly than my image.
Just by viewing the images side by side, you can see what style of photography has been used to capture these two very different moments. Owens has taken more of a Documental approach to his image. His image shows the entire room, the girl sitting on the bed and the mess all over the floor. By taking this image he wanted to show the viewer the whole scenario as well as documenting the life of this young girl in this situation, where as my found photograph has been taken in more of a snapshot style. My photograph focuses more on myself and my play mate and the toys I have been playing with.  The angle of my found image is pretty much in line with my eyes  and the format of who my room has been portrayed may suggest that a “point and shoot” camera has been used, whereas in Bill Owens’ picture the whole room is displayed suggesting that a wide angle lens has been used.

Myself aged 5.

Myself aged 5.

Bill Owens Image.

Leave a Reply

