Shoot One!

Monday 6th October, I underwent a test shoot in the small lockable studio at Uni.
I had a wonderful model called Thomas who traveled from the other side of Reading for me to under go the photo-shoot with him.
To begin with, I was feeling so nervous! Since participating in a small work experience program over the summer this was to be my first solo nude photo-shoot. Despite the nerves, I went to the studio feeling very prepared and organized – I had the lights set up before Thomas arrived and I took my Research & Development Book (RDB) with me to show him some photographs that I have been inspired by.

The lighting set up was rather simple (but effective!). I had 2 large soft-boxes placed either side of Thomas, by doing this I was able to use the soft lighting that I love to use and pick up on the detail of Thomas’ body.
We decided that we would work with the torso on this shoot, so I was mainly concentrating on his hands, arms, chest, shoulders and his back. Surprisingly, the whole thing went very well and to say thank-you I bought him a coffee (seeing as I am funding everything for this project, I am unable to pay models to participate in my shoots) and after the happenings of the day he left me a really good reference on the website Purple Port 

Lucy was friendly and confident from the word go – She has strong, clear ideas and explained them well, and was well organised, which meant the photoshoot was calm, and efficient; which also in-turn made my job as the model very easy too.

Below are 4 of my images from my test shoot. (click on the images to enlarge them!)


I felt the photo-shoot with Thomas was very successful – he was very chatty and we managed to break the ice rather quickly which made our jobs so much easier.
Despite the fact that this was a test shoot,I was able to make a decision on how I want my lighting to be set up for any future shoots for this project – the lighting is soft and subtle (the way I like to work when in the studio) but the light was strong enough to pick up on the definitions of his body. I came away from the studio with some strong shots. Reflecting on my images,  as good as they are, I know that I can push the boat out further. Yes, my images are strong, but they are FAR too simple.The images itself are standard cropped photographs of different parts of the body, simple, effective but just a starting point to develop my photographs more. For this project, I want to push myself out of my comfort zone and explore other ways of creating a series of images that relate to the Fragmented Body by exploring many as many areas and techniques as possible.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

